Awards : Distinguished Alumni Award

Dennis Agliano, M.D. ‘68

Susan Alpert, Ph.D., M.D. ‘84

Eugene “Bucky” Bloom, MD ‘60

Carson Burgstiner, M.D. ’58

Carson B. Burgstiner, ’58 was not only an obstetrician and gynecologist in Savannah for 38 years, he was also a highly trained and skilled microsurgeon. Additionally, he formulated a ground breaking supplement called Complete Thymic Formula (CTF) that was designed to restore integrity to compromised immunity. In 1996, he founded Preventive Therapeutics, Inc. (PTI) in order to make available such comprehensive nutritional support for his patients. Dr. Burgstiner passed away in 1997.

Robert Carr, M.D. ‘81

Edward Dauer, M.D. ‘75

Stephen Dresnick, M.D. ‘75

Umberto De Girolami, MD ‘68

A Boston resident, Umberto De Girolami, M.D. ’68, is a professor of pathology at Harvard Medical School, and a board-certified anatomic pathologist and neuropathologist in the Department of Pathology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, a teaching affiliate of Harvard Medical School. He also serves as a consultant neuropathologist at the Boston Children’s Hospital and the Pediatric Brain Tumor Center at Dana-Farber/Boston Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorders Center, a world-renowned destinations for children with malignant and non-malignant brain and spinal cord tumors. His clinical interests include: AIDS, spinal cord and neuromuscular disease, and the neuropathology of experimental vascular disease. De Girolami is a familiar name to generations of students of pathology and neuroscience for his work in co-authoring multiple editions of the nervous system chapter in perennially best-selling text, Robbins and Cotran’s Pathologic Basis of Disease, and as co-editor of comprehensive neuropathology text, the Escourolle and Poirier Manual of Basic Neuropathology, now in its fifth edition (2014).

Charles Dunn, M.D. ‘62

Arthur Eberly, Jr. M.D. ‘60

Emilio Echevarria, M.D. ‘56

Tampa resident, Emilio D. Echevarria, M.D. ’56, had a distinguished career as a general surgeon. He was the chief of surgery at the former Centro Asturiano Hospital from 1968 to 1980, and then at St. Joseph’s Hospital in Tampa from 1986 to 1997. Appointed to the Florida Board of Medicine by Governors Bob Graham, Bob Martinez and Lawton Chiles, Echevarria was elected chairman of the Surgical Care Committee of the Florida Board of Medicine in 1989. He served on the powerful regulatory board from 1984 to 1999. Retired since January 2000, Dr. Echevarria currently serves as a physician advisor at St. Joseph’s Hospital.

Arthur Gilbert, M.D., ‘57

Julian Haber, M.D. ‘61

Keith Hussey, M.D. ‘82

Richard Kaplan, M.D. ‘70

Norman Kenyon, M.D. ‘56

Kenneth Kiehl, M.D. ‘56

Board certified in Family Medicine, Dr. Kiehl was a solo practitioner in obstetrics, pediatrics, internal medicine and surgery for many years in Sarasota before he retired in 2002. He also served as chief of staff at Sarasota Memorial Hospital. Additionally, he is past president of the Florida Academy of Family Physicians, past president of the Sarasota County Medical Association, and former member of the Board of Governors of the Florida Medical Association. Dr. Kiehl’s other professional affiliations include the American Academy of Family Physicians, and the American Medical Association. Dr. Kiehl currently serves as an appointed member of the Sarasota County, Seniors Advisory Council, as the Medical Community Representative. He is also an appointed member of Sarasota County’s Stormwater Environmental Utility Advisory Committee. Previously, Dr. Kiehl was a member of the board of directors of the United Way of Sarasota County and an appointed member of the State of Florida, District 8, Managed Care Ombudsman Committee.

Ray Lopez, M.D. ‘63

Aileen Maria Marty, M.D. ‘82, F.A.C.P

Barry Materson, M.D. ‘62, M.B.A.

Theodore Nash, M.D. ‘68

James Oster, M.D. ’65

Ferdie Pacheco, M.D. ‘58

Guido Perez, M.D. ‘65

Manuel Penalver, M.D. ‘77

Jeffrey Raskin, M.D. ‘65

James Reed, M.D. ‘68

Anne Marie Rompalo, M.D. ‘79

Jack Sanders, M.D. ‘57

Eugene Schoenfeld, M.D. ‘61

Brian Schuster, M.D. ‘72

Alvin Smith, M.D. ‘64, F.A.C.P

Elliott Stein, M.D. ‘73

H. Murray Todd, M.D. ‘66

Jonathan Wasserberger, M.D.’71

Paul Alan Wetter, M.D. ‘75

Raymond Woosley, Ph.D., M.D. ‘73