News : 2015 : May

Dean Pascal J. Goldschmidt, M.D., and new M.D. Nicole Mandel. See story for link to complete photo coverage.

President Shalala Delivers Final Commencement Address to Miller School’s ‘Best-Ever’ Class

University of Miami President Donna E. Shalala congratulated the Miller School of Medicine’s Class of 2015 in what was her final commencement address. In turn, the 196 Miller School graduates receiving their medical degrees each gave Shalala a big hug after being hooded at the ceremony at the BankUnited Center Saturday evening.

Read more »

From left;  Alberto Mitrani, M.D., Fred F. Telischi, M.D., Maria T. Abreu, M.D., Eduardo de Marchena, M.D., and Steven Falcone, M.D., M.B.A.

Three UM Medical Alumni Receive Prestigious Distinguished Alumni Award

Honoring clinical excellence, research expertise, and public service among its graduates, the Miller School of Medicine Medical Alumni Association recently bestowed one of its highest honors — the Distinguished Alumni Award — on three outstanding physicians: Maria T. Abreu, M.D., Class of 1990; Eduardo de Marchena, M.D., Class of 1980; and Fred F. Telischi, M.D., Class of 1985.

Read more »